Contact Us

National Paralympic Committee (NPC) Nepal
(Formerly known as National Para Sports Association (NPSA))

Post Box No: 13946,
Kathmandu, Nepal

T. 977-1-4479627 / 4499222
C. 977-98510-22943


Paralympic Games

History of Paralympic Games

In 1948, Sir Ludwig Guttmann organized a sports competition involving World War II victims with a spinal cord injury in Stoke Mandeville, England. Four years later, competitors from the Netherlands joined the games and an international movement was born. Olympic style games for athletes with a disability were organized for the first time in Rome in 1960, now called Paralympic. In Toronto in 1976, other disability groups were added and the idea of merging together different disability groups for international sport competitions was born. In the same year, the first Paralympic Winter Games took place in Sweden.

Today, the Paralympics are elite sport events for athletes from different disability groups. They emphasize, however, the participants' athletic achievements rather than their disability. The movement has grown dramatically since its first days. The number of athletes participating in Summer Paralympic Games has increased from 400 athletes in Rome in 1960 to 3843 in Sydney in 2000. In Athens 2004, a record number of 136 countries participated at the Paralympics, making this the largest Games in Paralympic history Beijing and Asian Youth Para Games 2009 Tokyo, Japan.

The Paralympic Games have always been held in the same year as the Olympic Games. Since the Seoul 1988 Paralympic Games and the Albertville 1992 Winter Paralympic Games, they have also taken place at the same venues as the Olympics. On 19 June 2001, an agreement was signed between IOC and IPC securing this practice for the future. From the 2012 bid process onwards, the host city chosen to host the Olympic Games will be obliged to also host the Paralympic, and it will be named as Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The Vancouver city of Canada hosted the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games, whereas the Summer Paralympics 2008 was held in Beijing, China. London will host the summer Paralympic in 2012. Guangzhou, China hosted Asian Para Games 2010. A larger number of athletes were participated in this game from Nepal.


This is the method by which athletes are grouped in their homogenous sports groups and in their events to ensure that they compete fairly against other athletes with a similar degree of disability. This was originally based on medical opinion only but now it is evaluated on an athlete's functional ability. In the past, Paralympic competition has been organized within disability groups, e.g. amputees competing against amputees and spinal cord injured competing against other spinal cord injured - all classified (within their disability groups) according to the severity of their disability.

In Barcelona, athletes from all the locomotors disability groups competed - for the first time - against each other, with classes of competitions based on functional ability rather than clinical disability. The visually impaired will continue to compete separately in three classes, B1 blind, B2 partially sighted and B3 visually impaired. Most competitors will have been classified many times before they even reach a Paralympic venue, and several days are set aside at the beginning of each Paralympics for further classification checks by an international panel of experienced classifiers. These efforts endeavor to create a level playing field.

Upcoming Events

Know The Atheletes